top of page
Search

COVID-19 STOLE MY GRADUATION

As a college student to all college students:

What do you miss?

Do you miss the hustle? Do you miss the professors? Do you miss the classwork?

Maybe a collection of all of these things and more.

I miss the people.

Quarantined FaceTime only leads to mild satisfaction with immediate withdrawal upon hang up.

We were supposed to celebrate 17 years of education together. We accomplished something.

This chapter was supposed to close.

So why are the pages’ blank? We weren’t supposed to go out like this, right? We want to achieve great things. We have hopes, dreams, and aspirations. We were ready to embark on our path.

Road block.

This detour is bullshit.

Why is this happening? Did we do something to deserve this? I need a job. No one is hiring.

Should I just sit back and relax and hope everything figures itself out. No, I should work hard. Apply, apply, apply. Success by obsession.

But should I be so concerned about myself right now? People are dying. What can I do to help?

Oh, right. Social distancing.

The polar opposite of how I wanted to end my college career. Separate from all my friends, acquaintances, randoms, and those I consider family.

What do you miss?

Do you miss the bars? Do you miss the sports? Do you miss the food?

I miss my bed.

Not only was college where I got my education, it is where I lived. I don’t get the chance to finish living out my 4 years.

Not that living back home is a bad thing. It’s nice.

But it’s not expected. I can handle change. This just happens to be the worst kind: Forced.


Now.

There is nothing we can do to fix the current situation. What we can do is make the most of it. Reflect and rejoice on the time you did have. Accept the unacceptable.

You probably won’t have a graduation.

You may not even be able to hug your friend’s goodbye.

They are still your friends.

You still have time. Graduation isn’t the end. It’s just the beginning of something new.

Embrace the change. Own the new.

COVID-19 can’t steal your graduation.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dear UNC

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page